Showing posts with label vintage. Show all posts
Showing posts with label vintage. Show all posts

Sunday, 6 April 2014

Exception #4 - Next Danish Pin-Up

So I've done this crazy thing.

A couple of day ago one of my friend sent me a link to a competition. A modeling agency is looking for a new pin-up model, and I've decided to sign up.

This is so exciting I'm about to make flip-flops and sing in french... And I don't know how to neither.

Well to win this I really need you help.
The competition is on Facebook, and basically to win I need your likes. The girl with most likes wins.

I really hope you will support me in this crazy project I've decided to jump into.

What do you do:

1. Press the following link; it will lead you directly to the picture on Facebook.com: The next Danish Pin-up.
2. Like the picture.
3. Share it if you wish to.


Thank you so much. <3

Thursday, 3 April 2014

#47, #48

There has been to manny irregularities on the blog all the way from the beginning, but I will try to update the blog 2-3 times a week from now on. Usually the updates will be on Tuesdays and Thursdays and hopefully I'll be able to post on Sundays as well. 

Yesterday and today is still mostly about simplicity. I like black, but I like colors as well, and that's why I very often use berets and in different colors. Two days ago I go a new red beret. I've always wished for a red one, but for some reason I never bought one. 
So when I saw one on eBay I ordered it right away. 
I wanted the beret to be in focus and the best way to do that is to tone everything else down. 


This is a basic black dress from asos. I love it cause it's so comfortable to wear yet it is so tight that it turns out so sexy that I've seen both women and men not knowing where to look when I wear it. 
I've matched the beret with a pair of red patent leather ballerina shoes. I bought these two years ago in a outlet shop for merely nothing. 


The same place I found the beret I found this cuuute silver cat-brooch. I love over-sided brooches and this one has a pretty good size. I matched it with a pair of silver earring from my always trusted h&m. As simple as it gets. 
The reason I've chosen silver jewelry to the red details is that the silver cools the very bright red down and gives it a harmonic look.


A couple of weeks ago I saw a picture of Audrey Hepburn wearing a bull-fighters inspired outfit. And I just fell in love with the idea. I tried to copy it but of course with my own twist. 
What I'm wearing it is pair of cigarette pants from h&m, I used to wear these all the times when I was dancing a lot, and a turtle neck blouse, also from h&m. I used a scarf I found in a local thrift shop as a belt to give it the bull fighter feel. And matched it all with a pair of leopard ballerina shoes. 


Here I'm using gold jewelry, cause I think that green goes very well with gold. The brooch is an very old pice found on eBay years ago, and the earrings are as the one you've seen before on the blog just in a different size. 

Tuesday, 1 April 2014

#45, #46

It's spring in Copenhagen. It's seriously spring. It's that kind of weather; when you go out you actually can feel the warmth from the sun on your skin.

I planned to write an entry on Sunday, but one of my friends lured me out in park. 7 hour later when I got home I was so tired it took me approximately 2 hours and 50 minutes to move from my couch to my bed.

So here we go, an new update.


 I felt like celebrating spring this Sunday, so I wore the perfect summer dress. I just adore the color. It reminds me of summer and blue skies. What I love most about this dress is th fact that I don't need to wear a belt to make it look pretty. 
I found this dress some months ago i COS and yes, you are right, you have seen this dress before. But I couldn't help my self. This one is new and so absolutely lovely that I broke my own rule for it, but you know what.. I don't care. Rules are to be broken, and this dress is worth it. 


I didn't want to make a big deal out of a Sunday outfit. So I wore the dress with these pretty heart shaped earrings and and a pair of black ballerina shoes.



Yesterday was a stay-at-home-and-study day. So today I needed to do something extra. I wanted to play around with some 1940s hair, but victory rolls are so hard to make when your hair is too long.


My skirt is just a regular black pencil skirt I've found in a thrift show. I love black pencil skirts cause they re so practical and you can wear them casually during the day but also dress it up for a night out. 
The blouse is one of those pieces of clothes I found in my parents attic some weeks ago. I remember buying this blouse. It's probably seven year old, and I'm always impressed how good it still looks svn though it's just as ordinary as a VILA product. 


I'm retry sure you've seen both of these. The peacock is from a flea market her in Copenhagen and the earrings are from h&m. As simple as it gets. 




Tuesday, 25 March 2014

#43, #44 - Feminine wearing pants or even rags

Sunday was a dance and pants day. Yesterday was a pants day, and hell... let us make today pants day as well.
Dresses have a special place in my heart, and I love to wear them but every now and then I go pants-amok. There is just something perfectly casual yet feminine in the combination of a pair of capri, cigar or what ever pants, a sweater and a pair of ballerina shoes. In some way this is essence of simplicity or rather casual femininity.

If you wear your pants high-waisted and you match them up with any kind of pre-1960s vintage hair you will get a classic and elegant look of the exact era you wish to represent.
Of course the lingerie plays a huge roll in this as well, but I'll come back to this part in one of my exceptions on the blog.

A lot of men don't like when women wear pants, they prefer their women in skirts cause skirts equal feminine. And even though I absolutely agree on this statement; That dresses and skirts are more feminine that trousers, I'd say that femininity doesn't lay in the clothes but rather in the appearance and how you carry yourself.
If you try to google Marilyn Monroe or Audrey Hepburn, you will see both of them wear pants and even jeans, but their charisma is so feminine that even if they were wearing rags, they would look feminine.
Or remember Marlene Dietrich and her suits?  A suit is one of the most masculine outfits of forever, yet Dietrich nails it every single time, and she is just to die for... every single time!

Of course skirts help you feel more feminine, but the best way to become feminine is by discovering it within yourself. And of course practice, practice and some more practice.
I believe that every woman has the femininity hidden somewhere underneath of decades of anti-patriarch and pro gender neutrality propaganda of the 1970s Red Stocking Feminism.
I bow in respect for the hard work that the Red Stocking feminist did for the liberation of the woman back in the day, without them we wouldn't have the opportunities we have today. But just because you are a feminist, doesn't mean that you have to cut your femininity and womanhood off. One doesn't have to rule out the other. I'm feminist, but I sure do my best to keep in touch with my feminine sides as well.

Don't hesitate; let a man open the door for you, thank him for the gesture and smile. Put a flower in your hair as decoration, use lipstick. Don't be afraid to be extravagant or even dramatic from time to time. Let a man help you carry your bags...
Keep your head up and smile. Relax your face, be aware of how you walk, talk and act... at a point all of these things will become just a part of you and you won't even notice it anymore. At that point it won't matter anymore weather you wear a ball gown, pants or even rags. You will always look feminine.

Yesterday I wore my 1940s inspired chiffon pants. I bought them in h&m two years ago. They are so lovely. unfortunately they are too big, so I need to keep them up with a belt. The shirt is approximately four years old, and I found it in Vero Moda. This is from a time where I still was figuring out how to do this vintage style surf.  I love the color and the pom-pons at the shoulder. I remember I wore it with a pencil skirt back then. And I just adored the style. 
The hair I'm wearing is the same as here. This is so easy and quick and I love it when I need to get my hair out of the way in a creative and fancy way. 
Still what you do to get this hair is: You use a long scarf and secure it on the top of the hair with a bobby pin. 
2. You braid two braids. One on each side and secure them with a rubber band each. wrap the hair and the scar around the hair and tie it in a creative way. I usually tie it on the side. 


The jewelry yesterday was basically non existing. I only wore my old plastic earrings, cause the hairdo and the shirt were details enough for the style. 


Today I'm wearing pants cause I slept over and didn't have time to play around with dresses or skirts. 
These pants are actually my dads old working pants. I stole them from him, long time ago, cause I always wished I had a boiler suit. So these were a compensation for the boiler suit. 
I just adore these, they are so comfy, and they are perfectly big that I can wear them as a pair of high-waisted pants. They are too long as well so I always wear them rolled up. 
The blouse I'm wearing is my favorite turtle-neck blouse. I'm not sure what I'll do when this gets worn out. I think I've had this one for almost 10 years, and as I recall it's a h&m pice. 
I wen't all casual 1950s today. You know, like the american girls imitating the auto mechanics from mid-1950s. There is something light and very romantic and playful about that look. 
The hair was just put up in a hight bun and kept in place with a scarf and bobby pins. The same as Sunday. 


Earrings are bijouterie from h&m and the pin is one I bought on ebay a couple of weeks ago. I'm not sure if it's vintage or what ever, but I really don't mind, what I fell in love with is the fact that it is the eternity sign. 


Oh yeah the shoes. This is one of those pairs I always forget I have. I bought them two years ago, I like the combination of the patent leather and the sateen fabric. I bought these in one of those cheap outlet shops in Copenhagen. 

Thursday, 20 March 2014

#38

I know, I know.. It's been ages since the last entry. But trust me, even thought I don't post every outfit on the blog, I still keep the project going on. The best part is; I've bought so manny dresses since I started this project, that it will never end.
Today I seriously lost the count of how many dresses I've got. Last time I counted I had 116 dresses in my closet and that was a couple of weeks ago.

I'm still all about the 1960s and the MOD... And I think I've found out why... I just love the hair from the 1960s. It's so creative and... huge... You get a chance to go amok with your hair, and that is very rare for any other period... except the 1940s perhaps.

One of the reasons I like 1960s style is that it's very different from earlier fashion trends, and especially 1950s. In stead of looking back for inspiration the fashion in the 1960s is looking forward. It's all about the space age, the future, and about experimenting with new colors, styles and expressions. The 1960s are bold. The first rebellions (at least since the 1920's and the flappers) happen in the 1960s. And I really do believe it's because of the MOD generation and their turn against the old traditions and orders that the possibilities of late 1960s demonstrations are possible.


Got this dress last week from easy, and it's just adorable. I've been looking for a petroleum blue dress for years now, but it's hard to find the perfect color and style, so when I saw this one I bought it right aways. 
This dress is an original 1960s MOD dress. This is a longer version a mini-skirt, but I don't mind cause with this length I'm still able to wear stockings. 
I've matched the dress with a pair of chunky shoes and a pair og knee-highs. It's always a risk to wear knee-highs as a grown woman, and I really don't want to look like a school-girl. Seriously. That. Is. Not. My. Goal. 
My goal is to play with the MOD style, and the awesome details from the 1960s. 


I know that you during the 1960s had very marked eye make up. It was all about thick eyeliner and long, long, long eye lashes and very pale lips. I'm trying to keep the make up on a minimum. So I just use lipstick, otherwise I'd look very dead. I've kept the jewelry and the make up in similar tones, just to see how it would look, and I actually like it. It suits the blue petroleum dress. 
Oh yeah.. the hair... This is my easy 1960s hairdo. It's a huge bun on the top of the head and a small bow made out of my own hair, just to shine it a bit up.


I love this! This is so bijouterie and kitschy I could swoon! And look at the colors. They sure du represent spring. 
The huge plastic ring is bad from my MOD days. The flower ring is just between my MOD days and my vintage days, and both of them are bought on etsy. The flower ring is from LuluCoco, and I just adore her jewelry. I've been around the show a couple of times since I bought the ring. 
The earrings are a present from a friend, I've got them i there different shades. And the flower-pin is from h&m.


I'm going to the theatre on Saturday. As I can see it's some kind of a feminist-queer-gender play, I seriously need to plan an outfit that will make all the gender-neutralist faint and hate me! 

<3




Friday, 7 March 2014

Exception #2 - Reflections upon style and fashion

Most of you don't know me very well. This blog is mostly about dresses, style and fashion. But to understand my style, you have to understand me as well, or at least know why I act and dress as I do.

I've loved fashion since a very early age, and except few exceptions I've never been part of the mainstream fashion. For me it's always been about style rather that fashion. So already in my early teens I started to experiment with different styles.

I guess I've always been on of those people who dress after mood, which has made my style a tad schizophrenic over the years.

As a teens I decided to become a hippie, so I started wearing big, colorful and flowery skirts and dresses, I was all about boho and I was more or less the only one. Yet something was missing, so already at age of 15 I started twisting the style.

During my high school years I started experimenting with the more darker sides of fashion as well, and before I knew it I was all about goth. Yet I was just a tad to happy to be all goth. I didn't really feel the pain you had to feel to be a goth.
And that's when I stopped trying to fit within a box and decided that I could be 60's boho and goth, well not at the same time, but I could switch between both styles, if I wanted. Who was there to stop me?

During my twenties I stated dressing in some way MOD. I'm not sure I was aware of that fact. But none the less I wore long boots, short dresses and had a very high bob.
I loved the 1960s and the MOD style as I have pointed out before on this blog. Yet the MOD style wash't fit for the stockings I loved so much. And as my fascination for stockings grew, so did the length of the dresses I wore. I guess it was a natural process for me.

I've been wearing post-world war II fashion the past 3-5 years. (More seriously the past 3 years). And I really do love the style, but the past year or so vintage has been hit by an inflation. More and more people are interested in vintage clothes. Interested in the lovely and elegant style of the 1950s. The New Look is back and I'm so very glad...

And then again I've never been the part of the crowd, and I actually think I've grown to like being the odd (wo)man out.  For me style is about making fashion and clothes personalized, but as the better part of the danish women are dressing 1950s inspired, I back out.

I woke up yesterday and didn't know what to wear. Well actually I knew exactly what I could wear, but I was getting bored, and just didn't feel like it anymore.
I somehow felt trapped and wearing the pretty dresses from the 1940s and 1950s just felt like a routine rather like pleasure. So I wen't to my parents attic and found my old MOD stuff.
A lot of it was unfortunately given to charity, but I still had some of the classics, and I will make some changes in my wardrobe.

I've realized I'm not schizophrenic just because I don't follow the same line of style for ever.
It's rather that I like to experiment. I mean, why shouldn't I? Style and fashion is all about been creative....

Fashion is fluent. That's easy to see because it always changes, yet it is always inspired by earlier styles. But what I came to think of is that style is fluent as well. As people we evolve, and we change; At least curious people, who are willing to explore life and the world, are evolving and changing.
That is exactly the same with the style. As long as you are aware, as long as you explore, your style will follow it will change and expand.
A lot of stylists are scolding women for lacking consistency within the style. But you don't need consistency. You need to play around and try stuff out until you find something you like. The best part is though when you get tied of the style and you go out to explore a new one.

I think choosing just one line of style for yourself is rather a sort of security blanket. You know what fits you, you get used to it, and you just keep going on like some kind of repeat.
I'm not a person that falls in to repetition or monotony. I like to challenge my self.

I don't have any plans of changing my style 100%. I still love all of my 100 1950s dresses, I just plan to broaden the boundaries I've put upon myself and my style the past year or so.

That's why I will be welcoming 1960s MOD back in to my life.

1960s was all about bright colors and big hair. I'm wearing a bright red a-line skirt that is just above the knee. I've matched the skirt with a black knit blouse and a pair of knee highs.

It's extremely important to me not to look like a teen, which you easily can end up doing you you don't give the look a lot of edge and some kind of twist. I've done it with the hair. This was one of my favorite up-does back than, but I've was never able to make it, cause I always either had a bob or a pixie-cut. 
The huge hair makes the look some how more grown up. 


I'm wearing big bracelets with bright colors. It's all about adding some kind of edge to the look. 
But it still has to be very fresh and young. 




Wednesday, 5 March 2014

#36

My hair is too long and my wardrobe is about to be used up. I think it's just about time to get the summer stuff up from the basement. 
I think it the time of the year where the restlessness is kicking in and I feel nothing is good enough. 
Actually I'm kind of excited. 
It's still winterish in Denmark. But I've been living her for so many years that I know that I should always keep my Wellingtons and a wool coat close to me. 
Beeing aware of those facts gives me a possibility to wear lovely summer dresses even though it gets cold. 


I feel a bit uninspired. And I'm not very much in to those A-line skirts these days. I don't feel my waist is tiny enough, and I'm just not up for wearing tight corsets for a whole day at the Library. None the less I've got plans tonight so I had to look just a tad more stylish that I've been the past couple of days. 
I bought the skirt at etsy.com last year, I think. I haven't been able to wear it, cause it was to tight, but apparently today was one of those lucky days. It's simple, but I just love the tartan pattern. Maybe I should try to wear it during the coming christmas. It has those amazing vintage Christmas colors. The fabric isn't anything special, I guess it's some kind og cotton, but it's very breathable and that suits me. 
Firstly I tried to match the skirt with a green blouse, but it was just off, so I chose a transparent black shirt and accessorized with a black belt and black jewelry. 


I've had these earrings for ages. As most of my jewelry they are bijouterie, but they are simple and that's always a plus in my world. 
The ring is actually gold, and it was a present form my granddads sister. She was hell of a lady, and she had an amazing style.
The pin is actually a hat pin, but I still need a brooch that combines gold and black, so I use the hat pin as a brooch, when in need of that combination. 



Tuesday, 4 March 2014

#32, #33, #34, #35 - Summing up... forever

So, basically I'm not sure where the past week has gone. It's as if the days just slip through my fingers, and every morning I wake up, its a new week. 

It's almost three months since I've started this crazy project. And actually I'm starting to feel that I'm getting to the end of my winter wardrobe. There is still a good amount of dresses and outfits, but I am getting to the least favorite of them now, and I don't have the same urge to show them of. I mean all of my dresses are nice, but it's as if I forget to take the pictures in the morning. 

Last week was hard, and I ended up being home for two days, cause I caught some kind of bug. 
But none the less this is a selection of the outfits I wore last week. 



Monday: I found this dress on a flea market last summer. I was a bargain, and one wonders why. I almost ended up in an argument with my dad about this dress.  I still thinks it's as ugly as hell, and believe it or not, but I agree. None the less I love it. It's crazy, edgy, and it makes me smile every times I wear it. 
I'm pretty sure this is a 1970s pice, but, the crazy colors aside, it has actually a very 1940s style. Both the collar and the cuffs have pretty 1940s details. 

The Monday dress is more or less impossible to accessorize, cause it has way to much going on, so I just went with a simple pair of silver earrings. Mostly cause feel naked without earrings. 


Tuesday and Wednesday I was at home, so this is the Thursday's dress. This is actually the dress I planed to wear all those times I ended up wearing pants. I had a date on Thursday, so I decided to wear a dress. 
I love this dress. I actually designed it and my tailor in Montenegro made it for me. I just have a weakness for all things buttoned in the back.
It's inspired from the 1930s style, and actually it is supposed to be worn without a belt, but sometimes I wear it with a belt, just to give is some shape. I actually loved this dress so much that I asked my tailor to make me one more, but in different color. 

Usually when I wear the green dress I wear this jewelry. These is just something about green and cold. It fits perfectly. 


Friday... Well, I also had a date. I guess the Spring is on it way. So I wore a one of my many pencil skirts and and shirt I tend to forget I have. Usually I forget how pretty this shirt is. I've had it for ages and I bought it on sale in h&m. Once again it has this 1940s inspired style and color so with the right styling it ends up looking all vintage. 



And today. Today I'm almost in the 1970s. If it wasn't for the shape of the collar and the style of the pants, I'd go for a Disco-Diva today. 
Basically everything, except the hat, I'm wearing today is bought in some kind of high street shop. 

You don't have to buy expensive and fancy clothes to look stylish and elegant. It about being creative, and of course taking care of the clothes you wear. 
I always change when I get home, and I always wear my house coat at home. That's how I keep my clothes mint for several years, and even though they are bought in h&m og any other cheap hight street shop they look good and almost as new. 

Wednesday, 26 February 2014

#31


This is actually my first "real" vintage dress. I bought it from an old friend cause she had grown tired of it. I remember I just loved the color, and the fabric. For me it was one of the most exclusive pieces of clothes I had ever owned. I think this was back in 2007 or 2008, not really sure.
This dress was one of the turning points in my style and wardrobe. Soon after I realized how the fabric in vintage clothes have a very different feel and quality, and how I could never live without that feel. 
This dress has some kind of wool feel, or rather a heavy linen texture. And the color is just amazing. The style is very late 1950s or early 1960s. You can see it on the very simple round collar, and the length of the dress. I just love the simplicity of the late 1950s/early 1960s. And this dress is the perfect example.


Even though the color of the dress is amazing, tt's quite hard to find jewelry that can be complementary. So I used the leaf-shaped brooch my auntie gave me last time she was here, cause I though the green color would stick out when matched with the very hot color of the dress. And I was right. 


The hair was braided and messy, I didn't have time to make it neat today, but I used a pretty comb to keep everything in place. I think this is the first time I use this comb, even though I've had et for years.